‘Mericuh

‘Mericuhhh Credit: The Chive

As a Kansan, smack dab in the middle of this fine ol’ country, you’d probably expect me to run around shooting Gays while eating Mcdonalds  and sporting nothing but an American Flag as a dress. While I’m sure that would be a dream come true for some redneck assholes, I tend to sway a little more to the left. That’s not really what this post is about though, so let’s backtrack a bit.

I have finally decided to say my two cents about the Olympics. They are supposedly the most patriotic time for our country (what happened to the 4th of July?) and it has been said that to be disinterested is un-american. Fine, I decided, I’ll bite. I watched some of the gymnastics, in particular,  Gabby Douglas. She is incredibly talented and became one of the first African American woman to take home gold in individual all-around gymnastics. However, twitter wasn’t so much interested in her talent as they were her hair. Tons of people took to twitter to chastise her ‘weave’ saying that she should have gotten it done before the Olympics. Oh, I’m sorry, I didn’t realize that spending her entire life training for this moment wasn’t good enough. From Gawker/Twitter:

Obviously there was a backlash and eventually people stopped giving a shit, Gabby included. Of course it wouldn’t be Americuhh if Fox News didn’t say their piece about her, this time regarding her outfit. From the Huffpost:

You know, Gabby had that great moment, and everyone was so excited, and she’s in hot pink — and that’s her prerogative,” Camerota said. Webb, who hosts a program on Sirius/XM’s “Patriot” channel, wondered, “What’s wrong with showing some pride?” He likened the uniform choice to a “kind of soft anti-American feeling that Americans can’t show their exceptionalism.” Camerota pointed out how other nations, like China, wore nationalistic colors.

What the fuck? Seriously? Who gives a flapping-flibitty-gibbet shit?! This girl has trained hard for this moment and all anyone can do is criticize the shit out of her for the most shallow bull-shit things. Even better, they have the gall to call her un-american? Please, again, refer to what I said a moment ago: this girl has been training for her entire god-damn life. If that’s not ‘patriotic’ enough for you then you deserve to have the American flag tattooed on your face and then be thrown into a pool of frenzied sharks with god-damn lasers on their head. /endrant 

Stephen Colbert probably said it more eloquently than I can, so I’ll leave you with his take on things. (unfortunately it can’t be embedded.)

Also, check out fellow Bloggers who also wrote great pieces on the Olympics:

American the Superficial – by Silencing the Crowd

Female Olympians Fight Back against Shamers and Haters – by Fit and Feminist

Olympic Dreams – by Logos Con Carne

A bunch of Posts from Gnostic Bent

A Few Musings on the Olympics – by Mister Peter Evans

Leave Gabby Douglas’ Hair Alone – by Hollywood Life

I’m pretty sure there are a bunch more that I’ve read but for the life of me can’t find right now. Please post it in the comments and I’ll add it lickity split!

 

p.s. Sorry for all the cursing. I was pretty fired up while writing this.

20 thoughts on “‘Mericuh

  1. I saw the comments about the hair too and I too posted about it. She wins the All Around Gold, and the Team Gold. Then our news media and social media make comments about her hair. I am sure her hair was the last thing on her mind all these years and that’s why she received two well deserved Gold Medals.

  2. Amurikans are embarrassing. The people who are making asinine comments probably do not have even a fraction of the potential to achieve what the athletes have accomplished in their lives. Gabby wasn’t the only female Olympian who was the subject of ridiculously nasty tweets. Here is a link to a WordPress blog that did an awesome article about the Olympians fighting back against the haters: http://fitandfeminist.wordpress.com/2012/08/07/female-olympians-fight-back-against-shamers-and-haters/

  3. Heck, we won the Olympics AND landed on Mars in the same week. If there’s ever been a nation more awesome than that. I’d like to see it!

    I’ll tell you a story about Americans which embarrassed me. This April, I was in Australia at a music festival. Steve Earle was there. I was embarrassed, as an American, to see one of my fellow countrymen spend half an hour up on stage, in front of paying customers in a foreign land, running down America with half truths, lies and op ed when he should have been singing his two-chord songs about Hillbilly dope growers. THAT’s what happens when this liberal driven America-shame gets out of hand. His son, on the other hand was utterly charming, shut his mouth and sang the hits, like a good American 🙂

  4. The attitude of some of the media shits me to tears. In Australia our sport correspondent greets a swimmer that has won silver (and lost gold by 1/100th second) by: So where did you go wrong? Wrong? He didn’t go wrong, he is the second fastest swimmer in the world! How is that wrong? I really wonder sometimes. I thought Gabby was awesome by the way, and I hadn’t noticed anything about her hair or what she was wearing! I did notice how much she thanked God, her country and her family; Australians thank their coach and their parents 🙂

  5. I wrote a piece called “Those who can’t…” regarding the comments following the article about Canada’s only gold medal. Same sentiment applies here: those who can’t do it, criticize those who can.

  6. You know… Personally, I don’t like the Olympics at all. I’ve never been athletic, nor have I ever really had much interest in anything athletic, so when the world sets it’s top athletes out to do anything that doesn’t serve anything but to bring in money for sponsors or deem someone the best {insert some kind of physical activity here} in the world, it really makes me change the channel.

    There are so many other things people could be training their whole life for that will make a big difference to people other than allowing them to be able to say “The best archer on earth is from the same country as me.”

    As humanity marches forward, and projects like “Mars-one.com” works to put a colony on Mars, and technology makes people like, 2 degrees of separation from anyone else on the globe I think it’s a mistake to compete against one another in such trivial things. AND to top it off, I feel like I can’t watch most of it, because the competitors are all half clad, and under aged!

    So having said all that, to your point, the fact that I place so little emphasis on the Olympics as a whole, makes the fact that the main focus of America was this girl’s hair just makes the country seem THAT MUCH MORE superficial…

    Someone trains their whole life for something I could not care less about, and the focus of America is something that I think is EVEN LESS IMPORTANT… Just makes me shake my head…

  7. Good post. Here in the UK I am often flabbergasted by the general public’s obsession with looks. Poor Becky Adlington who won two golds in Beijing and two bronzes in London (with faster times) is constantly being criticised for her non-model facial features, and she’s one of the most humble, kind, supportive and eloquent athletes. Women are judged on their looks/body shape in so many areas of life, and much more so than men are. Something else I hate is that the words for women’s genitals are being used in a derogatory and abusive way. The C word is probably the worst insult in the English language (in UK anyway), but a most intimate and cherished part of my body.

  8. I don’t know why, but I also found it offensive that she’s nicknamed the flying squirrel? I would cry if someone compared me to a squirrel. ha ha

Leave a Reply

